HSA Advisory Committee

Regular Meetings

  • 7:00 p.m.
  • Quarterly
  • Board of Commissioners Meeting Room
  • Human Services Building
    210 E Willow Street
    Yadkinville, NC 27055

Special board meetings may be scheduled. To verify meetings and scheduled meeting agendas, please call HSA Director Kim Harrell at (336) 849-7910.


  • Brett Abernathy
  • Dr. Lynn Allred
  • Shonda Smitherman
  • Marty Driver
  • Dr. Mary Katherine Taylor
  • Jerry Ireland
  • Larry Moxley
  • Dr. Alexander Snyder
  • Joan Swaim
  • Ronnie Swaim
  • Frank Zachary

If you are interested in serving on the HSA Advisory Committee, please call HSA Director Kim Harrell at (336) 849-7910.


         The Yadkin County Human Services advisory committee was formed by the Yadkin County Board of County Commissioners on 2/18/13.  At which time the Board of Commissioners also consolidated the Yadkin County Department of Social Services and the Yadkin County Health Department into one consolidated human services agency.   The Board of Commissioners are the governing board of the consolidated agency and the eleven member advisory committee serve as an advisory committee only with no governing authority.   The advisory committee is comprised of all the required Board of Health professional members such as a physician, a dentist, a registered nurse, an engineer, a pharmacist, and a veterinarian.  The advisory committee also has four additional citizen representatives.   Terms for appointments are three years and expirations are staggered.  
          The Advisory Committee meets quarterly in Yadkinville, NC. The Advisory Committee has at least one meeting annually with the Yadkin County Board of County Commissioners.  This meeting consists of the annual Board of Health training.     Meetings consist of agency updates, staffing updates and overall information that impact the services and benefits that are administered by the Yadkin County Human Services agency.