Vital Records - Birth, Death & Marriage Copies
Who can get a copy of a vital record?
Anyone can get a copy of a vital record recorded in our office. However, North Carolina law limits access to certified copies of vital records, which are sealed with the official seal of this office and are commonly used for identity verification purposes. Only the following people can get a certified copy of your birth, death, or marriage certificate:
- Your spouse (currently married)
- Child or Step-child
- Your parent
- Those seeking information for legal determination of personal or property rights
- Authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative of the person whose certificate is being requested
REQUESTS MADE IN PERSON
You may visit the Register of Deeds office in person to obtain a certified copy during regular business hours. The fee is $10.00 per certificate and you must present a valid government issued picture ID in order to obtain a certified copy. If you were born in 1971 or later in another county in North Carolina we can issue you a certified birth certificate using the NC electronic Birth Registration System. The fee for this service is $24.00.
Click here to submit an online request. The certified certificate will be mailed to you. Please allow 3-5 business days for delivery.
REQUESTS VIA MAIL
If you cannot visit our office you may obtain a certified copy by mail. If requesting a copy by mail, please send a $10.00 check or money order along with a self addressed stamped envelope to the Yadkin County Register of Deeds. The request must be signed by the individual making the request. In addition, the requester must submit a copy of a government issued picture ID.
Click here for the printable Vital Records Request Form.
Birth Records of Adopted Persons
Birth Certificates of individuals who were adopted are not available at our office and are only on file at the NC State Office of Vital Records. Contact NC Vital Records for assistance with adoption records at (919) 733-3526.