Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
You may pick up a voter registration form at the following locations:
You may also download a registration form from the North Carolina State Board of Elections Website
Early "no excuse" voting is now available for any registered voter either by mail or in person. To vote by mail, a voter may make a request by filling out the official state request form. You may call our office at 849-7907 to request one be mailed to you or you may find the link to get one on our webpage. The deadline for requesting that a ballot be mailed is always the Tuesday before an election. Completed ballots must be in the election office by 5:00 pm on the election day to be eligible for counting.
One-stop / no excuse voting is available prior to all elections for any registered voter who would like to vote early. To make your request in person, visit:
All 12 precincts open at 6:30 am and close at 7:30 pm with curbside voting the entire time the polls are open on election day.
Must be a citizen of the United States, 18 years of age or older, by the date of the next general election, a legal resident of Yadkin County for 30 days by the next election, and not voted in any other county or state after submission of registration form to Yadkin County, not be a convicted felon that is in jail, or prison.
You may register with any political party recognized in the State of North Carolina. Party affiliation determines the primary in which a voter is eligible to vote. You may also register unaffiliated. If you do not declare a party, you will be registered as unaffiliated. During a partisan election, an unaffiliated voter may only vote if a party authorizes unaffiliated voters to vote in their primary.
If mailed, the registration form must be postmarked at least 25 days prior to the election If hand-delivered, the registration form must be received at the Board of Elections no later than 5:00 pm on the 25th day prior to the election.
North Carolina does require voters to show a photo identification (photo ID) when they present to vote in person. Call Board of Elections office for more information 336-849-7907.
NC General Statute 163A-1142 states that. "The county board of elections shall count the individuals provisional ballot for all ballot items on which it determines that the individual was eligible to vote. If you think you may not make it to your correct precinct on Election Day, please consider voting early at the early voting site.
If you vote on Election Day or at the early voting site but are unable to enter the facility, you may vote outside the voting location in your car. This procedure is called "curbside voting." Look for the curbside voting sign near the entrance to the voting place and park there. Someone will assist you in verifying your registration information and bringing you a ballot. If you prefer to vote from your home you can request that an absentee ballot be mailed to you. You can find that information under Absentee voting.