East Bend Waterline

Online Payment Now Available!

Please click here to make a payment online for East Bend Water.

The Project

The East Bend Waterline Project began with an agreement between Yadkin County and the Town of East Bend in 2015. The Town’s wells were contaminated and East Bend was having difficulty obtaining financing for a new system. The Town approached the County requesting assistance to provide clean drinking water to the citizens of East Bend. The Board of Commissioners saw the need to assist the residents of East Bend and a partnership began between the County and Town. The County began discussions with funding entities and the Winston-Salem Forsyth Utilities Commissions. 

An Agreement was entered where the Winston-Salem Forsyth Utilities Commission would sell the County water through the pipe installed under their dam on the Yadkin River. Yadkin County then entered into an Agreement to sell the Town of East Bend water. The County has obtained financing through a $4.1 million 0% interest loan from the NC Drinking Water State Revolving Fund and a $300,000 grant from the Appalachian Regional Commission. The waterline will connect to the Winston-Salem Forsyth County Utilities Commission line and run along Taylor Road, a portion of Old US Highway 421 and Flint Hill Road to the Town of East Bend. Construction of the waterline was awarded to Charles D. Lowder, Inc. of Winston-Salem, NC.

The Progress

In December 2016, Yadkin County broke ground on the East Bend Waterline project. The project is expected to be complete and the waterline fully operational by January, 2018. Follow the progress of the waterline (PDF). Photos will be updated throughout the project. Access photography taken by Nikki Maness with ANM Photography and Ann M. Franck with BreedLove Aerial Photography. Yadkin County is excited to share this project with our residents.

East Bend Waterline Sign
Ground Breaking Ceremony

This photo is from the ground breaking ceremony on December 19, 2016. In the photo, left to right, are Michael Goliber of Davis Martin & Powell, East Bend Commissioner George Burns, East Bend Commissioner Mae Luffman, East Bend Commissioner Wanda Johnson, East Bend Mayor Archie Hicks, East Bend Commissioner Kyle Matthews, East Bend Commissioner Larry Adams, Yadkin County Commissioner Frank Zachary, Yadkin County Commissioner Kevin Austin, Yadkin County Commissioner Marion Welborn, Yadkin County Commissioner Gilbert Hemric, Yadkin County Commissioner David Moxley and David Baker of Lowder Construction, Inc.